March 4, 2018; Hollywood, CA, USA; Guillermo del Toro poses with his awards for Best Picture for Best Director for The Shape of Water in the photo room during the 90th Academy Awards at Dolby Theatre.

Mandatory Credit: Dan MacMedan-USA TODAY NETWORK

‘The Shape Of Water’ Takes Academy’s Top Honor

March 05, 2018 - 12:32 pm

LOS ANGELES (1010 WINS) -- Oscars for everyone? Not quite, but the academy did spread the love around this year.

Guillermo Del Toro won Best Picture and director for The Shape Of Water. Best Actor went to Gary Oldman for Darkest Hour, and Best Actress was awarded to Frances McDormand for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing Missouri.

But the night wasn't just about the statues.

One of the most moving moments was watching three women who have spoken out against Harvey Weinstein: Annabella Sciorra, Ashley Judd, and Selma Hayek take the stage.

When she won, Frances McDormand had two words: 'Inclusion Rider.'

"Which means that you can ask for, and or demand, at least 50 percent diversity in not only the casting, but also the crew," she said.

Host Jimmy Kimmel riffed on the Best Picture, noting that we'll remember this as the year men screwed up so badly, women started dating fish. He also offered a prize for the shortest speech.

"Why waste precious time thanking your mom when you can take her for the ride of her life on a brand new jet ski?" he asked. "This is not a joke I will be timing you, I have a stopwatch."

It came after Oldman took his time to thank his mother who will soon turn 99.

Oldman has been the subject of social media backlash. Many were upset about domestic violence allegations from his ex wife in 2001.

Here's a list of all the winners:

Best Motion Picture:
The Shape of Water

Best Director:
Guillermo del Toro, “The Shape of Water”

Best Actor:
Gary Oldman, “Darkest Hour”

Best Supporting Actor:
Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Best Actress:
Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Best Supporting Actress:
Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Screenplay by James Ivory, “Call Me by Your Name ”

Best Original Screenplay:
“Get Out” written by Jordan Peele

Best Animated Feature Film:

Best Documentary Feature:

Documentary Short:
Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405

Best Foreign-Language Film:
Chile’s “A Fantastic Woman”

Best Song in a Motion Picture:
“Remember Me” from “Coco”

Best Original Score:
“The Shape of Water,” Alexandre Desplat

Best Visual Effects:
Blade Runner 2049

Best Cinematography:
Roger Deakins, “Blade Runner 2024”

Best Costume Design:
Mark Bridges, “Phantom Thread”

Best Makeup and Hairstyling:
Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski and Lucy Sibbick, “Darkest Hour”

Best Film Editing:
Lee Smith, “Dunkirk”

Best Production Design:
Production Design: Paul Denham Austerberry; Set Decoration: Shane Vieau and Jeff Melvin, “The Shape of Water”

Best Animated Short Film: 
“Dear Basketball”
“Garden Party”
“Negative Space”
“Revolting Rhymes”

Best Live Action Short Film:
“The Silent Child”

Best Sound Editing:
Richard King and Alex Gibson, Dunkirk

Best Sound Mixing: 
Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landaker and Gary a. Rizzo, Dunkirk

Best Visual Effects:
John Nelson, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert and Richard R. Hoover, Blade Runner 2049