Connecticut Residents Must Have Doctor's Note to Be Without Mask in Public

Erica Brosnan
August 18, 2020 - 3:51 pm
    Categories: 

    HARTFORD, Conn. (WCBS 880) — Connecticut residents that are found not wearing a mask in public must now have a doctor’s note on hand.

    Lt. Gov. Susan Bysiewicz on Friday signed an executive order requiring all residents to provide a doctor’s note showing they are exempt from wearing a mask due to a medical condition.

    The governor’s office had previously issued an executive order in April requiring all residents to wear a face covering while in public. However, it did not require people refusing to wear a mask to provide proof that they were unable to.

    The new rule went into effect on August 14 and is set to remain in effect for the next six months.

    Children under the age of 2 are exempt from wearing a mask in the state.

    Connecticut currently has over 50,000 confirmed cases of the virus and nearly 5,000 deaths. 

    The state has also partnered with New York and New Jersey in creating a mandatory self-quarantine list for travelers. 

    Any traveler arriving from one of the 33 states and U.S. territories listed on the advisory must self-quarantine for 14-days upon arriving in Connecticut.

    Anyone who is found to have broken the rule can be fined up to $1,000. At least seven people in the state have been fined already for failing to follow quarantine guidelines. 

    Gov. Ned Lamont says the state is “going to be serious” and “show people we’re serious about this” when he announced the first fines. 

    He said at least one of the people fined was turned in by a coworker.

    LISTEN NOW on the RADIO.COM App
    Follow RADIO.COM
    Facebook | Twitter | Instagram