Connecticut to impose $1K fines on travelers who violate quarantine rules

Maya Rajamani
July 20, 2020 - 5:02 pm

HARTFORD, CT (1010 WINS) -- Connecticut will impose $1,000 fines on travelers from COVID-19 hotspots who refuse to fill out an online health form or quarantine for 14 days, Gov. Ned Lamont said Monday. 

During a joint briefing on June 24, Lamont, Gov. Andrew Cuomo and Gov. Phil Murphy said travelers entering the tristate area from states with COVID-19 surges would have to self-quarantine for 14 days. 

Listen Live Now on 1010 WINS

In the weeks since the three states imposed the travel advisory, Lamont has only said he was “thinking about” imposing fines on travelers who violated it. On Monday, however, he said Connecticut would start imposing $1,000 fines after all. 


“Enforcement of that will evolve over time, but we want to send the message loud and clear, because you look at the incredible infection rates in other parts of the country,” he said. “We know that COVID came to this part of the country by airplane, and we don’t want it to come by airplane again. So we’re being particularly strict about how we do that going forward.”

Travelers who fly or drive into Connecticut will now have to complete an online “Travel Health” form with contact and other information, he said. Members of the state’s health department will conduct “spot checks” at Bradley International Airport. 

“This is something they’re doing at LaGuardia and Kennedy as well,” he noted. 

Anyone who refuses to fill out the form — or refuses to self-quarantine for 14 days — will be subject to a $1,000 fine, he said. 

Lamont on Monday reported 10 new COVID-19 deaths and 162 new cases since Friday, bringing the state’s death toll to 4,406 and its case total to 48,055. 

As of Sunday night, 54 people in the state were hospitalized with COVID-19, the lowest number of hospitalizations since March 23, he said. 

The breakdown of cases and deaths by county is as follows: