20 NYC-area Catholic schools to close, 3 to merge: Archdiocese

Maya Rajamani
July 09, 2020 - 12:41 pm

NEW YORK (1010 WINS) -- Twenty Catholic schools in the New York City area will not reopen due in part to the COVID-19 pandemic, and three schools will merge, the Archdiocese of New York said Thursday. 

In a statement, the Office of the Superintendent of Schools of the Archdiocese said the pandemic “has had a devastating financial impact on Catholic school families and the greater Archdiocese.” 

Listen Live Now on 1010 WINS

“Mass unemployment and continuing health concerns have resulted in families’ inability to pay their current tuition, and a significantly low rate of re-registration for the fall,” the statement read. 

Several months of “cancelled public masses and fundraising for scholarships have seen a loss of parish contributions which traditionally help support the schools,” it added. 

The following schools will not reopen in the fall, according to the Archdiocese: 

  • Corpus Christi School, Manhattan 
  • Divine Mercy School, New Windsor
  • Holy Family School, New Rochelle
  • Nativity of Our Blessed Lady School, Bronx
  • Our Lady of Mt. Carmel-St. Benedicta School, Staten Island
  • Our Lady of Perpetual Help School, Pelham Manor
  • Our Lady of Pompeii School, Manhattan
  • Our Lady of the Assumption School, Bronx
  • Sacred Heart School, Suffern 
  • St. Ann School, Yonkers
  • St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School, Shrub Oak 
  • St. John’s School, Kingsbridge, Bronx 
  • St. Joseph-St. Thomas School, Staten Island
  • St. Luke School, Bronx
  • St. Patrick School, Bedford
  • St. Paul School, Yonkers
  • St. Peter School, Poughkeepsie
  • Sts. Peter & Paul School, Staten Island
  • Sts. Philip & James School, Bronx
  • St. Thomas Aquinas School, Bronx 

St. John School in Goshen, meanwhile will start accepting students from Sacred Heart School in Monroe and St. Stephen-St. Edward School in Warwick.